Letter from the President, Bruce Bechard  Fall 2023

OLLI President, Bruce Bechard

My, how time flies.  It seems like it was almost yesterday when I took over from Jack as President in April.  The summer semester is concluded and we are now moving into the fall semester.

There will be the usual line up of interesting classes, activities, and clubs.  The OLLI 2023 Fall Showcase will be on Monday, September 18th starting at 2:00pm at the Turnbull Conference Center.  This will be a great opportunity to see old friends, make new ones, listen to instructors describe their courses, and see the clubs and activities OLLI will be offering.  You will also have an opportunity to meet the Director, members of the Executive Board, and Advisory Council at “Meet and Greet”.

Registration for classes/activities follow on September 20th, and classes begin the week of October 2nd.  Some of the classes will be virtual on Zoom.

As you know our organization couldn’t function without volunteers.  People who selflessly offer their time and energy as chairpersons for our clubs and activities, members of our Advisory Council and Executive Board and other positions help make our OLLI organization outstanding.   Please consider being a volunteer when presented with the opportunity.

Bruce Bechard

OLLI President, Tallahassee

Advisory Council Voting Members

Name Title
Bruce Bechard President
Jan Smith First Vice President
Debbie Justice-Obley Second Vice President
Jack Mapstone Immediate Past President
Laura Morris Member Representative
Mary Anne Price Member Representative, Westminster Oaks
Randy Soule Member Representative
Marsha VandenDooren Member Representative
George Waas Member Representative
TBA Philanthropy Committee
Cindy Foster Chair, Scholarship Committee
Carroll Bewley Co-Chair, Curriculum Committee
Fran Conaway Co-Chair, Curriculum Committee
Carroll Bewley Co-Chair, Special Lectures Committee
Fran Conaway Co-Chair, Special Lectures Committee
TBA Chair, Volunteer Committee
Fran Conaway Chair, Communications and Marketing Committee
Susan Yelton Chair, Society of Past Presidents
Linda Fairbanks Chair, Succession Planning Committee
Jan Smith Chair, Shared Interest Groups Committee
Harriet Waas  Co-Chair, Member Satisfaction Committee
Susan Yelton Co-Chair, Member Satisfaction Committee

Special Interest Groups

Name Title
Ramona Bowman Chair, Monday Book Club
Gena Pedroni Co-Chair, Wednesday Book Club
Ana Garcia-Quevedo Co-Chair, Wednesday Book Club 
Marie Clewis Chair, Field Trips, Culture and Arts Activities
Frank Alarcon Co-Chair, Men's Group
Carroll Bewley Co-Chair, Men's Group
Vicki Holley Chair, Walking Club
Harriet Waas Co-Chair, Travel Club
George Waas Co-Chair, Travel Club
Laura Morris Chair, Spanish Club
TBA Chair, Writers' Group
Denise Zabelski-Sever Co-Chair, Social Committee
Renae Mapstone Co-Chair, Social Committee
Michael Dodson FB Administrator

Membership Board Non-Voting Members

Name Title
Debra Herman OLLI Executive Director
Susan Bechard Recording Secretary
Terry Aaronson Program Coordinator
Mary Beth Trifiletti OLLI Business Associate


Legacy Sort
Legacy Priority